Tisha b'Av  תשעה ב'אב - August 11 (begins Aug 10 at 8:01 pm)

Tisha b'Av fast begins Shabbos, August 10, at 8:01 p.m. The fast ends Sunday night at 8:30 p.m. 

Ma'ariv and Eichah will be recited at 9 p.m.

For the duration of the Tisha b'Av fast we do not:

eat

drink (even water)

bathe or anoint ourselves with creams or perfumes

wear leather shoes

engage in intimate relations


Additional customs and laws also apply.  Click HERE to link to the chabad.org website, where detailed information can be found.


CONSULT A COMPETENT ORTHODOX RABBI IF ANY OF THESE RESTRICTIONS PRESENT AN UNDUE HARDSHIP OR IF YOU HAVE HEALTH-RELATED QUESTIONS CONCERNING FASTING.



Tisha b'Av morning services will begin at 8:00 a.m., and will be followed from 10 to 2 p.m. by a series of discussions led by the following rabbis (in alphabetical order): 


Rabbi Shimon Hecht  - Cong. B'nai Jacob

Rabbi Aaron Raskin - Cong. B'nai Avrohom of Brooklyn Heights

Rabbi Sam Reinstein - Cong. Kol Israel

Rabbi Elkanah Schwartz - Cong. Kol Israel

Rabbi Simcha Weinstein - Pratt Institute Chabad 

Rabbi Menashe Wolf - Chabad of Park Slope


Mincha services will be at 2 p.m.

Ma'ariv will begin at 8:20 p.m. The fast will end at 8:30 p.m. A break-fast will be served in the shul.




SHAVUOT - SECOND DAY - MON 6/10/19


It has become a yearly tradition. Everyone is invited to the home of Rabbi and Sarah Hecht for a BBQ lunch on the second day of Shavuot, Monday, June 9. It's free, it's fun and it's festive. There's no charge for the BBQ but we ask that you RSVP so we can prepare for you.

Monday, June 10 at 70 Prospect Park West 
Following Services at CBJ - approximately 1:30PM

the beautiful High Holy Day parochet designed and made by Judy Speezak

JEWISH HOLIDAYS IN THE JEWISH YEAR 5779

(all holidays begin on sunset of the day before the secular date indicated)

Rosh Hashanah - Mon-Tue, Sept. 10-11, 2018
Yom Kippur - Wed, Sept. 19, 2018
Sukkot - Mon-Sun, Sept. 24-30, 2018
Shemini Atzeret / Simchat Torah -  Mon, Oct 1 - Tue, Oct. 2, 2018
Hanukkah Mon, Dec. 2 - Mon, Dec.10, 2018

10th of Tevet (fast day) - Tue, Dec 18, 2018  begins 5:41 a.m./ends 5:02 p.m.

15th of Shvat ("Tu b'Shvat") - Mon, Jan 21, 2019

Ta'anit Esther (fast day) - Wed, Mar 20, 2019
Purim - Thurs, March 21, 2019
Passover - Sat, April 20 - Sat, April 27, 2019  

Shavuot Sun -Mon, June 9-10, 2019   (Yizkor on Mon, June 10)

17th of Tammuz (fast - daytime only) - Sun, July 21

Tisha b'Av (fast - 25 hours) - Sun, Aug 11, 2019 (fast begins Sat. at 8:01 pm)

===================================================================================================

תש''פ -5780

Rosh Hashana 5780 - Mon, Sep 30 - Tue Oct 1, 2019

Yom Kippur 5780 - Wed, Oct. 9, 2019

Sukkot 5790 - Mon-Sun, Oct 14-20, 2019

Shmini Atzeret / Simchat Torah - Mon, Oct 21 - Tue, Oct 22

CBJ

CONGREGATION B'NAI JACOB

of Park Slope

שבועות